STREAM: “Raincheck” – Mighty Ships

Coastal Midwest Album Art

We’re excited to share the first single off Mighty Ships‘ debut EP The Coastal Midwest, titled “Raincheck.”

The Bloomington-based band hits hard with their first official release, creating a big-emo sound. “Raincheck” features vocals from Katie Steel (Modus Aurora) and Matt Pow (City Mouth). The album was recorded at R3 studios in Chicago with Matt Jordan (Into It. Over It., Lifted Bells), undoubtedly helping translate the band’s atmospheric sound onto the recordings.

The five-track EP is set to be released on September 24 via We’re Trying Records.

“Mighty Ships was the band I always wanted to write for but didn’t know how,” frontman Tyler Bachman said, citing indie-rock projects he played with in college. “These five songs were me just letting go of a lot of frustration that came during my last year in school.”

The band will be playing a release show on September 25 in Bloomington-Normal, Ill., at the Coffeehouse with City Mouth, Cup Check, Classic Schmosby, and Endless Compromise. Bachman said the band is working on tour dates for the end of this coming winter and spring.

The Coastal Midwest tracklisting:
1. Tom Waits
2. Raincheck
3. A Signed Lenny Dykstra Rookie Card
4. The Coastal Midwest
5. Richmond, VA

Mighty Ships tour dates:
Sept. 25 @ Coffeehouse (Normal, Ill.)
Sept. 26 @ Revolution Vinyl (Galesburg, Ill.)

Leave a Reply