Motes Announce Album Release Date, Share New Single “Great Lake”

Motes Keep it in the DarkChampaign shoegaze band Motes announced their debut record Keep It in the Dark will be released on May 23.

The three-piece recorded the 10-track album nearly a year ago in June 2014 at Earth Analog Studio in Tolono, Ill. The album will be released on vinyl, CD and digitally via Heirship Records out of Champaign. You can pre-order the album through the band’s bandcamp page.

Motes also shared “Great Lake,” the second single off Keep It in the Dark. The track features a strong performance out of frontwoman Elizabeth Majerus, who takes lead on the vocals and adds a soft layer over a heavy hanging, fuzzed-out track. Majerus and guitarist Matt Mitchell split vocal duties throughout the album.

The band will also play a record release show on May 23 at Mike N Molly’s in downtown Champaign with Withershins and Milwaukee’s Blue Unit.

Listen to Motes’ “Great Lake” here:

Here’s what the tracklisting for Keep It in the Dark looks like:
1. See What Happens
2. Great Lake
3. Freeway
4. Fools
5. Bleedin
6. We Collide
7. Dear Life
8. Trees
9. Should
10. Parade

Leave a Reply